The Texas Department of Public Safety has announced that they are stepping up enforcement of the move over/slow down law, and on Wednesday troopers will out in force in this region looking for violators.
The move over/slow down law has been in effect since 2003. It requires drivers to move over one lane or slow down when a police car, a fire truck, an ambulance, a wrecker, or a Texas Department of Transportation vehicle is stopped with emergency lights on.
According to DPS the law states:
~ Vacate the lane closest to the applicable vehicles stopped on the side of the road (if the road has multiple lanes traveling in the same direction) or
~ Slow down to 20 mph below the speed limit. (If the speed limit is below 25 mph, the driver must slow down to 5 mph)
~ Drivers should only move over if they can do so safely and legally; otherwise, they should slow down.
According to DPS, a violation of the law can result in a fine of up to $200.00, and the fine can increase to $500.00 if property damage results. DPS says if a violator causes bodily injury, they can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, resulting in possible jail time and a maximum fine of $2,000.00.