The votes are in and it was a runaway for Jasper football placekicker and punter Alex Mijares. He has been voted the VYPE SETX Magazine Special Teams Player of the Year by the readers of the website.

It wasn’t even close for Mijares. After the polls closed on Thursday evening, he had received 61.55% of the vote, nearly doubling that of his nearest competitor, Kevin Linares of Beaumont West Brook, who received 33.75% of the ballots cast.

Mijares and the eight other players in the poll are all returning 2018 All-District kickers, punters, and kick returners.

Entering his senior season in the fall of 2019, Mijares was named both 1st Team Kicker and 1st Team Punter following the 2018 football season. Mijares was a combined 52 of 57 in both field goals and point-after attempts. One of his field goals was for 44 yards which was the second longest in Jasper football history, the longest being a 52 yarder by Brandon Acheriokysol in the early 1990’s.

Here is the final results from the online poll:

Alex Mijares, Jasper 61.55%

Kevin Linares, West Brook 33.75%

Angel Ibarra, West Orange Stark 2.55%

Troy Yowman, West Brook 1.24%

Darian Williams, Little Cypress-Mauriceville 0.6%

Payne Barrow, Nederland 0.05%

Jose Chavez, East Chambers 0.05%

Perrin Teer, Huntington 0.04%

Dylan Matthews, Splendora 0.03%

Broadcast journalist & on-air personality - Rayburn Broadcasting Company - KJAS 107.3 FM in Jasper, TX and KFAH 99.1 FM in Pineland, TX